I Wrote Me A Manual.

Take notes…

The MVP Argument For Teixeira or Jeter

with 8 comments

Jeter

Derek Jeter

teix

Mark Teixeira

Let me begin by saying that I’m under no illusion that either Derek Jeter or Teixeira is actually going to win AL MVP. Not with the year Joe Mauer is having:

G(95) AB(366) R(73) H(139) 2B(21) 3B(1) HR(25) RBI(77) BB(48) SO(47) SB(3) CS(1) AVG(.380) OBP(.448) SLG(.648) OPS(1.095)

That guy is having an absolutely remarkable season–and this is after he missed a month! Still, I figure I’d do my best impression of a savvy politician and feed the base! I actually just want to get feedback from you guys and see where you stand with one of our guys possibly winning. If you don’t think it’s close, and I personally don’t, where do you rank El Capitan or Teixeira?

So let’s start with Teixeira’s numbers going into today:

G(117) AB(460) R(73) H(130) 2B(33) 3B(0) HR(31) RBI(89) BB(66) SO(83) SB(2) CS(0) AVG(.283) OBP(.381) SLG(.557) OPS(.937)

T-1st in HR

2nd in RBI

4th in .SLG

5th in .OPS

T-9th in BB

19th in Hits

Great season. He absolutely carried us after a horrendous April. He’s on pace to hit 40 HRs and drive in a solid 110-130 RBI.

Ok, now Jeter:

G(115) AB(486) R(81) H(161) 2B(21) 3B(1) HR(15) RBI(54) BB(48) SO(65) SB(21) CS(4) AVG(.331) OBP(.395) SLG(.471) OPS(.866)

2nd in hits

5th in BA

8th in .OBP

11th in SB

21st in .OPS

Has there been anybody better at the lead-off spot this season? In 2009, Jeter has arguably been one of the most consistent players in the game. He’s even got some pop in his bat and is playing defense at a higher level, certainly when compared to the 2008 season.

So those are the raw numbers. What do you think? How much do you factor overall team success into your decision? Are there any intangibles our guys have that should merit consideration?

Written by PJ

August 20, 2009 at 7:47 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Damn you!!! This is a tough one…

    Gonna have to go w/ Tex. He’s the best 1st baseman we’ve had since Tino. He’s been great in the box, but his glove impresses me even more. I haven’t seen a new Yankee transition this easy in a while.

    Jeet is still my dude though. His stellar consistency is his strength and undoing in this argument. We always know what to expect with him. When he excels, he’s supposed to excel (even in the off-season, lol). We’re spoiled!

    Mikey Champ

    August 21, 2009 at 1:26 am

    • Word, Jeter’s great year is just another day at the office for us Yankees fans!

      I’d give Tex the edge, too. Only because he came to NY as a high-priced free agent, and amid all the pressure and bright lights, he proceeded to beast. His numbers are great and he’s been clutch. That Gold Glove better be in the bag, too. If not, I’m taking to the streets with weaponry.

      Too bad some kid named Joe Mauer decided to have the best year for a catcher since Carlton Fisk… Tex might actually have gotten the trophy.

      PJ

      August 21, 2009 at 2:43 am

  2. I’m with Mikey Champ on this one I think Big Tex deserves this one but parts of me feels Jeter should get this one off of GP from 2006. Justin Moreneau robbed him because he is from a “small market”. Small market my ass!! I think thats some BS!!!

    BLaCk Bruce WaYnE

    August 21, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    • I forgot include your last question, I think overall team success needs to be counted! But the way baseball is, this is strictly a numbers game and the Twins are not making the playoffs so unfortunately Mauer is going to get it.

      I think MLB needs to slightly reevaluate the way they MVPs. I remember there was one year where Ken Griffey lead his team to the playoffs dolo and I think Juan Gonzales spoiled it! In addition, the Rangers went NO where that season!!

      BLaCk Bruce WaYnE

      August 21, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      • I take that back, the Rangers went to the playoffs that season. My Bad but Griffey deserved it!!

        BLaCk Bruce WaYnE

        August 21, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      • I agree that winning should count for something, too. BUT there are certain cases where a player is just leaps and bounds better than the next dude. A-Rod had that type of season in ’05. I feel like Mauer is having that year this season. The part that trips me out is that he’s a catcher!

        Baseball is probably the one sport where the winning factor shouldn’t count as much as it does in other sports (but it should still count in some way). It’s the one sport where you make the team better by beastin’ as an individual player.

        PJ

        August 21, 2009 at 12:44 pm

  3. maur no questions asked… those #s are retarded… i would def put tex 2nd though..to go to NY after a fat contract and actually PRODUCE like he is, is tough. big ups

    papa p

    August 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm

  4. mauer*

    papa p

    August 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm


Leave a Reply

